Headhunter: Krokus

Rating: 95%

Headhunter_cover.jpgIn 1983, Krokus released probably one their best albums in there entire catalog. So, when I was browsing through the records at the store today and saw this, I had to grab it. I used to have this one on cassette many years ago.

This record here to me was a very good record and for many reasons. But mainly it was because of how tight the band played. They seem to lose that AC/DC hardness and developed their own heaviness musical style. This album has a lot of really good tempos and the instrumentation is well balanced. From start to finish, it’s a pretty solid album.

Marc Storace sounds really good behind that mic. The guitar work just doesn’t quit. This album has a lot of great riffs and plenty of heated solos. You can thank guitarists Fernando von Arb and Mark Kohler for that. The drumming by Steve Pace is also good along with the bass work of Chris von Rohr. It also feature Rob Halford on backing vocals on “Ready To Burn.” 

Track listing:

Side one
“Headhunter”  – 4:30
“Eat the Rich”– 4:14
“Screaming in the Night” – 6:38
“Ready to Burn”  – 3:54

Side two
“Night Wolf” – 4:10
“Stayed Awake All Night” – 4:41
“Stand and Be Counted”– 4:07
“White Din” – 1:50
“Russian Winter” – 3:31


Scream: The Compilation

Rating: 90%

scream.jpgIn 1987, during the Hair and Glam Metal scene, L.A. was already bracing itself for the next wave of Alternative music. Scream was a mid-late 80’s nightclub in Los Angeles, CA. It was here that the next generation of musicians would come about.

To get the word out, Geffen Records releases “Scream, The Compilation.” It was through these kinds of releases that people from all over would get a chance to hear something new that wasn’t exactly being played over the airwaves. It was through these compilations that people could check out new bands and sample their music.


A1 –Jane’s Addiction, Pigs In Zen, 3:59

This was band that I first heard of before they became popular. This song was so refreshing to hear. Up until now, Glam Metal ruled everything.  I remember when the song “Been Caught Stealing” came out. It was such a treat to hear. It was something different.

A2 –Caterwaul, Manna And Quail, 4:47

This band has a great overall sound with strong female vocals. Think of the early 1980’s Alternative sound, but more polished. This band has an overall strong sound which is enjoyable to listen to.

A3 –Human Drama, Wave Of Darkness (Highway 99), 3:34

This band had a lot of potential. They sound great using a collection of the early 1980’s Alternative music influences. It sounds good and the vocals are strong. It has that Rockabilly feel to it when I hear the guitar work on in some of the areas, including the beginning introduction.

A4 –Francis X And The Bushmen, Grey Talk, 4:23

So, the introduction of this song is weird. But there is a a good guitar riff to it. This song screams 1980’s New Wave music.

A5 –TSOL, All Along The Watchtower, 3:03

So, TSOL has been around for a while. It began as a Punk band and now has made it way to more of a Glam Metal sound. This band probably has done one of the best remakes of a popular cover by Bob Dylan. The musicianship is very strong.

B1 –Delta Rebels, Teenage Lipstick Girls, 2:52

This song made no sense at all. But I did like the overall riff and classic rock feeling. It’s upbeat and fun to listen to.

B2 –The Hangmen, Rotten Sunday, 3:36

Psychobilly never sounded so good. I love this version of the song more so, than the regular album version. It’s got plenty of decent guitar work and vocals.

B3 –Tender Fury,  Slaughter The Lion, 3:49

I love the bass riffs on this song. That’s the first thing I noticed when I first heard this. The guitar riff is pretty cool to. I do love the guitar solo on this song. This song has a Punk feeling, but it’s not really Punk. Just another great example of an L.A. band trying to make it to the big time.

B4 –Abecedarians, They Said Tomorrow, 5:19

This song has that classic Alternative feel combined with New Wave and Punk.  It’s full of great guitar work as well as bass lines. The even keeled tempo is nice. It’s enough to get you pumped, but not enough for you to go full blown head bang mode. Now, as far as lyrics go, it’s a bit weak.

B5 –Kommunity FK, Something Inside Me Has Died, 4:10

I love the bass on this song. The bass is what sets this song to a level of greatness. The keyboards gives this song that classic touch of  the late 1970’s early 1980’s Alternative music. Even the guitar itself has that same feeling. Vocally, it’s weird.

Sovereign Banjo made by Harmony

iehkatlswrfk6nsk2fdj (1)

I borrowed this picture from Reverb Guitar Sales

My first banjo was given to me by my father. He gave it to me when I was a teenager almost 25 years ago. A few weeks ago, I had to trash it after the head broke when it fell. It was the same place that I made a repair fifteen years ago. Figuring that this banjo isn’t worth much, I decided it was time to just pitch it.

The banjo served it’s purpose. I learn several songs on it, even though I wasn’t much of a finger picker. I used the chords that I learned from using the drop D tuning on the guitar and learned how to play the instrument.

The instrument was light weight, easy to play and sounded decent. I will admit, some chords sounded a bit dull or flat. But other than I never had any complaints.

I think it was made with a maple neck and rosewood inlay for the fret board. I think that the resonator was also made from maple. It had chrome metal and I want to say that the head was made from plastic?


One last jam session before the break.

Hondo II Professional


From an auction site, but this is exactly what I had.

I remember my first real guitar. My brother paid about $50 for it. It was a Japanese made Hondo II Professional. I took this guitar to two Maryland State FFA talent contest and won seventh place one year and third the other. The one song I wrote and would’ve got first place, but the judges didn’t like one of the lines and I was dinged.

When I formed my first band, I had this guitar. It was a great sounding guitar. The sound was rich, deep, and heavy. It was meaty! I loved this guitar, but had to thrash it several years ago, because I didn’t think it was worth fixing up. I was wrong. These guitars, what few I could find were averaging $250 to $400.

So, what about this guitar? It’s a solid body, double cut away heavy ass guitar. That is what I liked. It featured a three way toggle switch, coil tapped Matsumoku made MMK 45 humbuckers, one volume one tone pods. It was made from mahogany and featured a rosewood fret board. Although, a heavy guitar, it was easy to play due to it’s super low action. It could stand up to my rough and ragged playing ways even if it was made by Matsumoku.

If I am not mistaking, this is one of those Japanese lawsuit guitars because of the fact that it was a copy of a Paul Reed Smith guitar. Ether way, I loved everything about this guitar.  If I could find a cheap enough price for this guitar, I might consider buying it.