W4: The Green Album; Woods of Ypres

Rating: 85%

wo4)I have been into Woods of Ypres since 2011 when Woods 5 was released. I love David Gold’s voice and song writing. His musicianship is very impressive. He seems to write lyrics and music based off his own feelings which is real.

W4 is considered as the fourth record released by Canadian Black Metal band Woods of Ypres. W4 is an album that has a lot of sadness in the lyrical themes.  The opening song “Shards of Love” begins with the mellow easiness of melody. The lyrics deal with a couple breaking up and the girl moving out.

“You pulled your things off the walls, took all that was yours.
You packed your books into boxes and placed them at the door.
You emptied your half of our closet, and went through the drawers.
Taking it all for granted and left what was left for me on the floor.”

“And still I’m pouring my heart out to you, trying to move you.
Still I’m pouring my heart out to you, trying to get you to stay.
Still I’m pouring my heart out to you, trying to move you.
Still I’m pouring my heart out to you, trying to get you to stay.”

“And I said, “What about this? What about that? Don’t you remember the good times?
What about this? What about that? Don’t you remember our life?”
She said, “What about this? And what about that? Don’t you remember the hard times?
What about this? And what about that? Don’t you remember our lives?”

This song is about real life that many adults experience. Then the music gets heavier. This song lead into the second track “Everything I Touch Turns to Gold (Then To Coal).” This song deals all levels of emotion from anger to reasoning and then placing blame. “By the Time You Read This” is the third track that deals with death, which leads into the track four “I Was Buried in Mount Pleasant Cemetery.”

These songs seem to go hand and hand. The rest of the album deals with much of human emotions and relationships. The musicianship is very solid with elements of Black Metal and Doom Metal that blend in with the vocal work.

I would highly recommend this album. It might be painful to listen to if you’re experiencing relationship problems, but it’s better than going into some bar and listening to some fake Country song and getting drunk.

Track listing:

1. “Shards of Love” 5:19
2. “Everything I Touch Turns to Gold (Then To Coal)” 5:03
3. “By The Time You Read This (I Will Already Be Dead)” 6:30
4. “I Was Buried in Mount Pleasant Cemetery” 7:58
5. “Dirty Window of Opportunity: “Can You Get Here in 10 Days?”” 5:14
6. “…And I Am Pining (For You)” 8:15
7. “Wet Leather” 4:30
8. “Suicide Cargoload (Drag That Weight)” 4:04
9. “Halves And Quarters” 2:25
10. “You Are Here With Me (In This Sequence of Dreams)” 1:41
11. “Retrosleep in the Morning Calm” 3:25
12. “Don’t Open The Wounds/Skywide Arms Spread” 4:58
13. “Natural Technologies” 4:54
14. “Mirror Reflection & The Hammer Reinvention” 7:03
15. “To Long Life In the ‘Limbo Union'” 4:08
16. “Move On! (The Woman Will Always Leave The Man)” 2:59

Leave a Reply

