Wolfmother by Wolfmother

Rating: 90%

Wolfmother album cover.jpg

Rocking from Sydney, New South Wales, Australia is Wolfmother. This stoner/hard rock band came out of the corner swinging away and knocking any who heard them out. Their premiere EP, Wolfmother would be released April 18, 2006 and would showcase hits such as “Woman,” “Dimension,” and “The Joker And The Thief.” They would record their self-titled album through Modular Recordings, a small independent label from Australia.

Wolfmother’s influences can be tied to Led Zeppelin. Just listen to Andrew Stockdale’s vocals and his guitar riffs and all of sudden you feel as if Led Zeppelin from the 60’s has been reincarnated and playing as Wolfmother. Stockdale’s solos and heavy guitar riffs are easy for anyone to follow, making this an album not only enjoyable to listen to alone, but as you play air guitar while your pals are playing air drums and bass. Throughout the album you just want to rock, plain and simple. Myles Heskett’s drum beats reflect a classic rock style with influences of early heavy metal bands such as Black Sabbath, which adds to the impact of their songs.

Wolfmother opens up their self-titled EP with “Dimension” and the gates of Hell are opened with it. Within the first 15 seconds you hear a blood curdling yell from Andrew followed by the great bass and drum riffs that rattle your brain. The song builds and throws the listener into another dimension. The audience is then thrown a curve ball with “White Unicorn.” This song definitely has noticeable Led Zeppelin influences. The nice clean riffs to open the song bring one back to the 1960’s.”Woman” provides the audience with another example of classic Led Zeppelin. The album follows later with “Where Eagles Have Been.” This songs provides very harmonic melodies over heavy riffs, throwing the audience in every which direction. The nice, classic solo enters and makes you wanna grab your air guitar and slide down the hallway of your school or work. “The Joker And The Thief” starts out with an amazing riff that Andrew lays out for us and is supported by  Myles’ heavy drum line. Wolfmother finishes the album off strong with “Vagabond.” This song provides an easy outro to the album. Don’t let the word easy sway your opinion of the ending. “Vagabond” has a good mix of acoustic and electric guitar with a killer drum beat about a minute and a half in. It is just a good way to end the album.

Wolfmother’s self-titled album definitely helped to redefine what rock was for the masses when they released this album in 2006. No matter how many times you listen to it you want to go back for more.

Track Listing:

  1. Dimension
  2. White Unicorn
  3. Woman
  4. Where Eagles Have Been
  5. Apple Tree
  6. Joker And The Thief
  7. Colossal
  8. Mind’s Eye
  9. Pyramid
  10. Witchcraft
  11. Tales
  12. Love Train
  13. Vagabond


  • Andrew Stockdale – vocals, guitar
  • Chris Ross – bass, keyboard
  • Myles Heskett – drums

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s