Lovesick, Broke and Driftin’: Hank3

Rating: 90%

Lovesick_Broke_and_Driftin'.jpgHe looks like his grandfather Hank Sr. He sounds a lot like his grandfather musically on this record. The style on his second release “Lovesick, Broke and Driftin'” is a modern updated sound since his grandfather’s time. Yep, that’s right, we’re talking about Hank Williams III.

Hank3 has been around the music scene for years. He can play country, rock, heavy metal, hardcore punk and hell billy music.  Just like his father Hank Williams Jr., Hank3 is pretty straight forward. I have been a huge fan since this release in 2002.

I was in Walmart and saw this album and immediately threw it into the cart. When I first heard this record, I knew right away, that we have something tradition and yet modern. Hank3’s vocal style on this record is heavily influenced by not only his grandfather, but many of the country music artists such as David Allen Coe, and Waylon Jennings. Lyrically, this album is no different than most country music, but, it begins to transition into something a little darker. Drugs, heartache, and attacks the record company.

Musically, this record is deep rooted in traditional country, but also contains some modernness to it as well. Something to note, Billy Gibbons of ZZ Top plays the electric guitar on this record. It has melody, it has harmony and it’s a true country sound as country music should be heard. It has a lot of upbeat tempos and it is heavy on certain songs. Unlike his first release, this record pretty much begin to set the trend of what Hank3’s music becomes.

The music itself and song structures are pretty simple and that is what makes this record good. There’s no pop-country influence here. So if you’re looking for the type of music on the airwaves today, then stay clear as this record may turn you onto the dark side. But, if you want to hear something new or something true, then what are you waiting for? All of Hank3’s albums are great! So, crank it up, play it loud, and be proud.

Track listing:

1. “7 Months, 39 Days” 3:26
2. “Broke, Lovesick, & Driftin'” 2:24
3. “Cecil Brown” 3:32
4. “Lovin’ & Huggin'” 1:52
5. “One Horse Town” 2:50
6. “Mississippi Mud” 3:22
7. “Whiskey, Weed, & Women” 4:08
8. “Trashville” 3:14
9. “Walkin’ with Sorrow” 2:56
10. “5 Shots of Whiskey” 4:20
11. “Nighttime Ramblin’ Man” 2:47
12. “Callin’ Your Name” 3:13
13. “Atlantic City” (Bruce Springsteen cover)


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s