The Killer Angels: The Civil War

Rating: 70%

civil-war-killer-angels-1024x1024.jpgCivil War is a Swedish Power Metal band featuring several ex-members of Sabaton including drummer Daniel Mullback, guitarists Oskar Montelius and Rikard Sundén and keyboardist Daniel Mÿhr. With the addition of Pizza on bass and vocalist Nils Patrik Johansson, the band was complete. In 2013, the band released their debut, “The Killer Angels.”

I got this album solely based upon it’s cover. I figured since of my history background, this album would be a perfect fit. Especially the song tracks like “Gettysburg.” I mean look at the cover, if that doesn’t tell you what the themes are going to be, then I don’t know what else to say. The band’s lyrical themes do surround history and war.

Musically, lots of riffs that are boarder line speed metal on some of the songs. The entire album is heavy. There seems to be a few filler s in the songs, but it’s not that noticeable. Lots of lead guitar and fill in leads. Great drum work and bass lines. Song strucutre wise, the album flows nicely. It’s not choppy at all. Production is decent. Vocally, Nils Patrik Johansson reminds me of Tony Martin’s vocal style in Black Sabbath. His vocals  can hit a wide range of notes including the high notes. There are very strong harmonizing chorus lines. The keyboard does find it’s place in the music itself. It’s not overwhelming at all. The music is nonstop action throughout the entire album.

Bottom line, you have a basic power metal band that made a good effort for their first full length. It’s an enjoyable record. I do like the history inspired lyrics. If you’re into power metal, then try this album out for size.

Track listing:

1. King of the Sun 05:27
2. First to Fight 04:19
3. Saint Patrick’s Day 05:11
4. Rome Is Falling 05:24
5. Sons of Avalon 04:11
6. I Will Rule the Universe 05:11
7. Lucifer’s Court 03:46
8. Brother Judas 04:16
9. My Own Worst Enemy 03:51
10. Gettysburg 05:05
11. Children of the Grave (Black Sabbath cover) 04:58


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s