Love.Angel.Music.Bay.: Gwen Stefani

Rating: 85%

GWEN_S~1Gwen Stefani released this album in 2004 as part of her solo efforts away from her more mainstream punk band No Doubt. This album is a heavy blend of 1980’s music from several genres including electro pop, dance, hip hop and R&B that heavily relies on synthesizer and other 1980’s electro styles.

The music for what it is sounds good. Lots of tempo, melody and harmony. Production wise, this is a very good album that has a great balance of songs that are not over bearing in modern pop music. The album flows nicely from track to track. Gwen’s voice sounds good and does a great job at song writing, which brings me to the next item. “Halloback Girl” was written in response to Courtney Love’s statement about Stefani as a cheerleader. I love the tongue in cheek humor.

Gwen has proven that not only can she play punk and rock music, but she can branch out and write and perform music in popular culture of today’s music.

Track listing:

  1. “What You Waiting For?” 3:41
  2. “Rich Girl” (featuring Eve) 3:56
  3. “Hollaback Girl” 3:19
  4. “Cool” 3:09
  5. “Bubble Pop Electric” (featuring Johnny Vulture) 3:42
  6. “Luxurious”  4:24
  7. “Harajuku Girls” 4:51
  8. “Crash” 4:06
  9. “The Real Thing” 4:12
  10. “Serious” 4:48
  11. “Danger Zone”3:37
  12. “Long Way to Go” (performed by Stefani and André 3000) 4:34

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s