Cat Scratch Fever: Ted Nugent

Cat_scratch_fever_coverRating: 95%

Some people love him, some people hate him when it comes to his political views. Many love him for what he does with children camps, wounded warriors and his strong anti-drug message. Many despise him for his right wing conservative views, pro-Second Amendment rights and his stance on hunting and conservation of those resources. That’s right, we’re talking about the Motor City Madman, the guitar god himself, Ted Nugent. I love hearing Ted Nugent and I respect him for what he believes in.

In 1977, Ted Nugent released “Cat Scratch Fever.” The line up for his band consisted of vocalist and guitarist Derek St. Holmes, bassist Rob Grange, drummer Cliff Davies. This album was a huge success for Uncle Ted as he controlled the airwaves during the 1970’s.

Musically, this album is really good. Ted shreds that damn guitar like there is no tomorrow. His riffs and leads are crazy. The lyrical themes, you can guess deal with plenty of tongue n’ cheek messages about sex, rock n’ roll and hunting. The vocal work of both Nugent and St. Holmes are very well done. A very good record that has influenced hundreds of guitarists and I’m sure it will influence many, many, more.

Track listing:

  1. “Cat Scratch Fever” – 3:41
  2. “Wang Dang Sweet Poontang” – 3:17
  3. “Death by Misadventure” – 3:31
  4. “Live It Up” – 4:02
  5. “Home Bound” (Instrumental) – 4:43
  6. “Workin’ Hard, Playin’ Hard” – 5:44
  7. “Sweet Sally” – 2:34
  8. “A Thousand Knives” – 4:48
  9. “Fist Fightin’ Son of a Gun” – 2:51
  10. “Out of Control” – 3:27

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s