Bluegrass Legend Ralph Stanley Dies

800px-Ralph_Stanley

Rob Crawford – Ralph Stanley

On Thursday, June 23, 2016 we lost Bluegrass Legend, banjoist and vocalist Ralph Stanley. I remember when I first heard Ralph Stanley. It was back in the early 1990’s and I was listening to the Bluegrass station and his version of “Orange Blossom Special” came on. It was like nothing I ever heard. It was Bluegrass gone Heavy Metal.

I then began going through his catalog and come t find out, I heard many of his songs back in the early 1980’s. Either way, he was one hell of a banjoist, songwriter and vocalist.

Leave a Reply

