Reign in Blood: Slayer

Rating: 100%

slayerI first got into Slayer in 1988 when I purchased “South of Heaven.” After that, I purchased this record “Reign in Blood.” Just the opening track with the powerful full speed ahead riff followed by the scream of Tom Araya on “Angel of Death” I was like “Holy Shit!” Being into history as I was, I knew the story of the Angel of Death and Slayer pretty much put that story on the table for everyone to learn about the horrors of the Holocaust. Sometimes, history is full of horror stories.

This was Trash Metal at it’s extreme and I loved it. Slayer is heavily associated with the creation of Thrash Metal as Megadeth, Anthrax and Metallica are and together these four bands the Big Four.This album featured the much talented drummer Dave Lombardo, vocalist and bassist Tom Araya, guitarists Jeff Hanneman and Kerry King. With that being said, the musicianship is excellent.

To me, there is no major flaws. With “Angel of Death” and “Raining Blood” there is a small dose of melody in which these are the opening or closing songs on the record. What’s left in between, is full speed ahead. The duel blasting guitar riffs are awesome and the leads performed by guitarists Jeff Hanneman and Kerry King never stop, they may slow, but the intensity of the guitars never cease. This album has some of the best drumming in the Thrash Metal genre, sorry Lars, but Dave Lombardo can out do you any day behind the drum set. I love the shrieks and shrills of Tom Araya vocals and his fist pounding bass lines. Lyrical themes center around this album as horror, politics, religion, and war. The aggression of the music was what drawn me to other Slayer records.

No one ever said that music should always be about rainbows, sunshine and lollipops. Slayer here is just the opposite. The music itself is raw, high energy, fast and heavy. It leaves the listener with the feelings of rage, anger and hatred. So, if one is pissed off, Slayer is a good outsource to channel that anger through. This album has ever since became an influential record for heavy metal music in general.

Track listing:
1. Angel of Death 04:51
2. Piece by Piece 02:02
3. Necrophobic 01:41
4. Altar of Sacrifice 02:50
5. Jesus Saves 02:55
6. Criminally Insane 02:22
7. Reborn 02:12
8. Epidemic 02:23
9. Postmortem 03:27
10. Raining Blood 04:16


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s