Danzig IV: Danzig

Rating: 100%

Danzig4palbumIn 1994, Danzig released what could be his best record. But, it’s a record that also caused some line up changes. It’s a bitter sweet pill to swallow. Shortly before this album was released, drummer Chuck Biscuits left the band to fill in for his brother who was killed, drumming in the Four Horsemen. He was eventually replaced by Joey Castillo. Bassist Eerie Von and guitarist John Christ would leave the band after the tour was over.

This album is a lot different than the previous three records. It’s a bit more jazzy in some spots, but also introduces some of the Industrial Metal movement that was entering into the music scene by groups like Nine Inch Nails and Rob Zombie. “Sadistikal”is a good example of the experimentation. Danzig V would exploit that sound as a new level for the Glenn himself.

The music itself is a lot slower in tempo. It still retains some of the heaviness of the previous Danzig records which is heard in the first two tracks. One will also notice that Glenn Danzig is establishing himself more as a vocalist.  “Going Down to Die”, “Stalker Song”, and “Let It Be Captured” are three great examples of Glenn’s powerful vocal work. The album is very dark in nature and lacks the Blues influence but does a great job of bridging the other three records together with regards to the sound and musical style. Lyrically, Danzig still retains themes surrounded by the Cult, Death, Pain, Religion and yes, Sex.

The band, is tighter than ever. The music structure is more complex. This album has some great riffs, lacking the major power chords, but john Christ’s jazz roots and influences are shinning through which is why the guitar work is so good. His chording is excellent. His guitar solos are great. The drumming on this album is very good. Eerie’s bass work is excellent.

This album is the last Danzig album that gets the rating of 100%. All of the other album that follow afterward to me are good, but, they lack the standards of the first four records.

Track listing:

1. “Brand New God” 4:29
2. “Little Whip” 5:10
3. “Cantspeak” 4:06
4. “Going Down to Die” 4:59
5. “Until You Call on the Dark” 4:24
6. “Dominion” 4:13
7. “Bringer of Death” 4:40
8. “Sadistikal” 5:07
9. “Son of the Morning Star” 5:04
10. “I Don’t Mind the Pain” 4:45
11. “Stalker Song” 5:48
12. “Let It Be Captured” 5:16
66. “Invocation” 2:59


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s