Captain Beyond

Rating: 90%

captain_beyondIn 1972, vocalist Rod Evans, guitarist Larry Reinhardt, bassist Lee Dorman and drummer Booby Caldwell after forming a super group called Captain Beyond, released their debut record.

This record features an all-star collection of Hard Rock music that is blended with Progressive and Psychedelic influences. The end result of all that blending is this gem. Musically, this record is very good. It’s mystical, it’s magical and it’s mysterious all wrapped up into one record. The Hard Rock sound that is influenced by the Progressive Rock is a what makes this record sound good. The Progressive and Hard Rock influences are both equals and the song structures do not get bogged down with one or another. Then you add the psychedelic sound which compliments the song structures themselves. The record features balanced tempos that are for the most part are even keel, with the exception of the one ballad.

Instrumentation is very good. Musicianship is very tight. You have the formal Deep Purple lead vocalist Rod Evans who for the most part is a great match for the sound of Captain Beyond. He doesn’t really display the higher range vocals here. Then you have the former Iron Butterfly guitarist Rhino Larry Reinhardt and bassist Lee Dorman. Rhino’s style has always been more or less heavy. He kicks out some decent riffs here on this record. His skills as a lead guitarist are amazing. Lee Dorman’s bass work is also pretty decent. Then you have the hard hitting ex-drummer from the Johnny Winter Group, Bobby Caldwell. His drum work is what is really taking this group toward a Progressive Rock with his off beats and tempos.

This is one of those bands that were great in their day, but are now considered forgotten. Their brand of Progressive Hard Rock was good. They were actually ahead of their time with their music. After this record, the group saw many line up changes and then they disappeared.

Track Listing:

Side one
1. “Dancing Madly Backwards (on a Sea of Air)” 4:02
2. “Armworth” 1:48
3. “Myopic Void” 3:31
4. “Mesmerization Eclipse” 3:48
5. “Raging River of Fear” 3:47

Side two
1. “Thousand Days of Yesterdays (Intro)” 1:16
2. “Frozen Over” 3:46
3. “Thousand Days of Yesterdays (Time Since Come and Gone)” 3:57
4. “I Can’t Feel Nothin’ (Part 1)” 3:06
5. “As the Moon Speaks (to the Waves of the Sea)” 1:27
6. “Astral Lady” 0:58
7. “As the Moon Speaks (Return)” 1:57
8. “I Can’t Feel Nothin’ (Part 2)” 1:46


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s