Blodsvept (Shrouded in Blood): Finntroll

Rating: 90%

FinntrollBlodsvept.pngIn 2013, Finntroll released “Blodsvept.”This is Folk Metal at it’s finest. The entire album is fun to listen to, even though, their lyrics are sung in their native Finland tongue. But, don’t let that stop you from enjoying the Polka structured songs. The music is catchy, toe tapping and finger snapping fun.

The 2013 line up consisted of vocalist Mathias “Vreth” Lillmåns, guitarists Samuli “Skrymer” Ponsimaa & Mikael “Routa” Karlbom, guitarist and keyboardist Henri “Trollhorn” Sorvali, keyboardist Aleksi “Virta” Virta, bassist Sami “Tundra” Uusitalo, and drummer Samu “Beast Dominator” Ruotsalainen. They are joined by orginal vocalist Jan “Katla” Jämsen as the lyricist. With these guys at the helms, the musicianship is very tight.

Song structures, again are based on Finnish Polka blended with Folk and Death Metal. The songs on this record are heavy, fun, and uplifting. Although, it was written that Finntroll was making some fun of the genre they are considered. This album has some fantastic riffs that are fast moving and crunchy. Lot’s of strong guitar work throughout the entire album. There’s plenty of beefy bass lines. The drums are fantastic.  I love hearing the sound of the double bass drum. Other brass instrumentation on the keyboards is very well done too, from the acoustically charged pieces. The harsh style of the vocals just brings this album home.

There are lots of off beats and fast tempos.The keyboards is what gives this album a boost. Although, with Death Metal, there shouldn’t be harmony or melody, this album has both, vocally and musically.  The music itself is symphonic and dark with a touch of orchestral that gives this record a powerful sound. In some case the music itself is very raw and is statically charge. It’s like going on a journey and not knowing what to expect.

If you like music that is dark in nature, with lyrical themes of tradition and mythology, then this album is a good Finntroll album to start with. I am just amazed at how diverse these Folk Metal bands are at preserving their pagan culture, traditions and heritage.

Track Listing:

1. “Blodsvept” Shrouded in Blood 4:29
2. “Ett folk förbannat” A People Accursed 3:23
3. “När jättar marschera” When Giants March 4:07
4. “Mordminnen” Memories of Murder 3:24
5. “Rösets kung” King of the Cairn 3:15
6. “Skövlarens död” Death of the Waster 3:44
7. “Skogsdotter” Daughter of the Forest 4:53
8. “Häxbrygd” Witch’s Brew 3:52
9. “Två ormar” Two Serpents 3:17
10. “Fanskapsfylld” Filled with Devilry 2:57
11. “Midvinterdraken” The Mid-Winter Dragon 5:37


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s