Outlaw Blood

Rating: 70%

outlawblood_ob2In 1990, the Hair Metal scene was getting dull. Many bands that were signed to major labels were seeing a new trend coming down the road in the form of Grunge. It was a matter of time before Hair or Glam Metal was done. Many of the bands signed in the late 1980’s or early 1990’s had to separate themselves from that movement. A new wave of Blues influenced Hard Rock as part of the Hair Metal scene came about, but it still wasn’t enough to stop the Grunge movement.

In 1991, Outlaw Blood managed to record their only album. This self titled album is a bluesy influenced Hard Rock that I swear sounds like Billy Idol meets Bang Tango. If you’re familiar with bands like Tangier or Tora Tora, these guys are right there along those lines.

The musicianship is not bad. You had vocalist Marc McCoy, guitarist Marti Frederiksen (who helped to write many songs for the big bands), lead guitarists Rick Harchol, bassist Nick ‘The Hammer’ Parise, and drummer Larry Aberman. Song structures are very basic for the time. Several hard rockers, one ballad, and a few slower songs. There are some decent riffs and some great leads. Other than that, what we have here is an average band who got caught up on the Hair Metal scene as it was fizzling out.

Track listing:

1. Tower of Love
2. Body and Soul
3. Last Act
4. Sink My Teeth
5. Every Day I Die
6. Soul Revival
7. I’m N Shock
8. Red Hot ‘N’ Blue
9. Slave to Love
10. Fall Thru the Cracks
11. Hollywood Babylon


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s