Mortal Way Of Live: Sodom

Rating: 90%

SodomMortalwayoflive.jpgThis album was my first introduction to the Sodom. Back in the late 1980’s and early 1990’s, Roadrunner Records were your source for Heavy Metal. I used to pick up all of these cassette tapes in the $0.99 to $3.99 bin. In 1988, this live album was sticking out and it was only $0.99, so I figured what the hell? When I placed it into my player, I was sold.

The music was so raw and so fast, that my head was spinning trying to keep up with it. It was like a full out assault. This was the type of music I wanted to go to war with. I then took it to school and let my buddies check it out. We always tried to out do one another with extreme music. This album along with D.R.I.’s self titled album, both helped me to win those competitions as far as speed.

The music during this live performance was so fast, raw, and powerful. It’s full of energy. I love how the band sounds. Tom Angelripper’s raspy vocal style is damn evil. His bass has a decent sound to it. It’s distorted and has a fussy sound to it. Almost like Lemmy of Motorhead. Then Frank Blackfire’s guitar is ripping and slicing. He throws out fast riff after riff during the performance. His leads are very explosive. Then you have the hard hitting Chris Witchhunter. His performance is pretty damn good. He sets the fast tempos for the songs and punches that double bass drum like there is no tomorrow. I love hearing these kinds of live performances. You are hearing the band as it really is. This is just another treasure from my past.

Track listing:

1. “Persecution Mania” 4:45
2. “Outbreak of Evil” 3:46
3. “Conqueror” 3:00
4. “Iron Fist” (Motörhead cover) 2:56
5. “Obsessed by Cruelty” 8:54
6. “Nuclear Winter” 5:54
7. “Electrocution” 3:06
8. “Blasphemer” 6:00
9. “Enchanted Land” 4:15
10. “Sodomy & Lust” 5:02
11. “Christ Passion” 6:24
12. “Bombenhagel” 6:40
13. “My Atonement” 5:57
14. “Conjuration” 5:26

Leave a Reply

