Kings of Metal: Manowar

Rating: 90%

Manowar_kingsofmetalsalbumcover.jpgIn 1988, “Kings of Metal” was released by the one and only Manowar. This was the album that started it all for me with the band. Ever since I heard this album, I went back and purchased all of the prior albums. Manowar was the baddest, loudest, and heaviest band around. Well, that’s what they claimed. But they are good enough to be called “Kings of Metal.”

This album to me is a great Heavy Metal album. There are some flaws with it, which is why I rated it lower. Don’t get me wrong, I love Manowar and their style. To me there are some fillers on here. You have one song that isn’t a song. “The Warrior’s Prayer” is more or less and story that is being read. Although, it’s a great story, I would have preferred a real song instead. Secondly, “Wheels of Fire”, the opening song on the album really doesn’t fit in with the material of warriors.

Manowar in 1988, if you already didn’t know consisted of, vocalist Eric Adams. This guy has got plenty in his vocal pipes. I love his sound, style, and range. Then you have guitarist Ross the Boss. He throws out riff after riff. I love his heavy sound. He also throws out plenty of great leads and solos. Then you have bassist Joey DeMaio. Then you have the man, the god of thunder himself, drummer Scott Columbus. Man this guy can play.

Musically, this album it kick some serious ass. The songs are super tight. They are aggressive, some are fast, strong, and well structured. “Kings of Metal”, “Pleasure Slave”, “Hail and Kill”, and “Blood of the Kings” are ALL great tracks. These tracks are heavy, they have great solos, and have great vocals. The “Sting of the Bumblebee” is an instrumental that has some great bass and guitar solos. “Heart of Steel” is a slower, almost ballad style of metal. I love the German lyrics better than the English version here.

Track listing:

1. “Wheels of Fire” 4:10
2. “Kings of Metal”  3:45
3. “Heart of Steel” 5:10
4. “Sting of the Bumblebee”  2:49
5. “The Crown and the Ring (Lament of the Kings)” 4:50
6. “Kingdom Come” 3:56
7. “Pleasure Slave”  5:38
8. “Hail and Kill” 5:58
9. “The Warrior’s Prayer” 4:20
10. “Blood of the Kings” 7:29


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s