Frozen In Time: Obituary

Rating: 85%

frozenintimeAfter a several year hiatus, Obituary came back with their 2005 release “Frozen In Time.” This album to me was a good comeback for the Death Metal legends I have always loved the sound of the band. Vocally, John Hardy still retains that classic growl and grit that he is known for. The guitars of both Allen West and Trevor Peres are deep and heavy as they. The solos and leads still scream. Bassist Frank Watkins is heard throughout the album. Aside from the classic structure of the guitars and vocals, Donald Tardy’s drumming is more straight forward. His style is a bit different in his approach. The song “Slow Death” for example, Donald’s drumming is noticeably different. His technique is more progressive in nature.

The songs seem to be faster than some of their previous albums as if they are being influenced by Speed Metal and Thrash Metal. The songs structures seem to be more music rather than vocals. The album opens with “Redneck Stomp” which is an instrumental. Other songs like “Slow Death” seem to have a more epic introduction that lasts for a minute, minute and a half. Well then the vocals come in for one verse and chorus line and that’s it. The songs are short and to the point.

Musically, the instrumentation is great. Everyone seems to have a great overall sound. This album is chalk full of great riffs, screaming fills and leads. While the sound is overall polished, there is a certain element of grit and crunch with the overall sound. The rawness is more settled. Either way, this is still a good come back album, even though, it comes clocking in at 34 minutes.

Track listing:

  1. “Redneck Stomp” 3:32
  2. “On the Floor” 3:10
  3. “Insane” 3:25
  4. “Blindsided” 2:56
  5. “Back Inside” 2:42
  6. “Mindset” 3:54
  7. “Stand Alone” 3:44
  8. “Slow Death” 3:03
  9. “Denied” 3:37
  10. “Lockjaw” 4:13

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s