Pleasures Of The Flesh: Exodus

Rating: 80%

In 1987, Exodus released their second album, “Pleasures of the Flesh.” All and all, this was a good Thrash Metal album despite it’s sound quality. This was also the first album to feature long vocalist Steve Souza.  This album did have it’s shortcomings. First, some of the song structures seem to be drawn out with these filler intros. Second, it’s sound quality is less than tasteful. Other than that, this is a very good follow up effort to their debut “Bonded By Blood.”

Aside from some of the fillers on this album, the song structures are a bit raw and a bit loose. But, that is what I also like about the album. Gary Holt and Rick Hunlot, both produce some outrages guitar riffs. They are brutal, violent, and crunchy. There is a lot of screaming lead guitar parts and fill ins. Steve Souza, I think had big shoes to fill as the new front man for this raw and powerful band. I think he did, considering that many of the songs were not actually written by him. There are a lot of good bass lines and lot’s of great drumming.

Track listing:

  1. “Deranged” 3:46
  2. “‘Til Death Do Us Part” 4:50
  3. “Parasite” 4:55
  4. “Brain Dead” 4:15
  5. “Faster than You’ll Ever Live to Be” 4:26
  6. “Pleasures of the Flesh” 7:37
  7. “30 Seconds” 0:40
  8. “Seeds of Hate” 4:57
  9. “Chemi-Kill” 5:46
  10. “Choose Your Weapon” 4:52

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s