No Place for Disgrace: Flotsam and Jetsam

Rating: 85%

Noplacefordisgrace.jpgWay back in the mid 1980’s. Heavy Metal was being dominated by Glam Metal on the airwaves. However, on the underground scene, Death Metal and Thrash Metal were thriving. Flotsam and Jetsam was no exception. Their style of Thrash Metal was on the heels of the second wave of the genre. Releasing a debut that was successful, the band minus bassist  Jason Newsted who moved over to Metallica released a very impressive follow up in 1988.

Musically, this album is well balanced by the shear vocal style of Eric A.K. The twin assault of guitars by Edward Carlson & Michael Gilbert throwing out killer riff after riff and lead solos that are perfected by harmony. You have some excellent drumming by Kelly David-Smith. The one thing that sticks out is the bass playing by Troy Gregory. It’s all over the place on this album and sticks out like a sore thumb. All of these musicians know who to make a good, pure, and classic Thrash Metal album filled with wired tempos, off beats, and killer complex melodies, that repeats the formula of their debut.

Track Listing:

“No Place for Disgrace” – 6:13
“Dreams of Death” – 5:39
“N.E. Terror” – 5:57
“Escape from Within” – 6:47
“Saturday Night’s Alright for Fighting” – 3:52 (Elton John cover)
“Hard on You” – 4:50
“I Live You Die” – 5:49
“Misguided Fortune” – 5:41
“P.A.A.B.” – 5:32
“The Jones” – 4:07 (Instrumental)


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s