Black Aria: Glenn Danzig

Rating: 90%

fc97a5a0-1786-012c-1e34-0050569439b1.jpgIn 1992, Glenn Danzig released an instrumental neoclassical record called “Black Aria.” I remember when I purchased the record and read the insert and it said, “This is not a rock record.” I thought to myself, hummm! When I played in my walkman, I was at first, saying WTF? Then after I listened to it again, the music itself was beautiful.

The arrangements were nicely done, but they do lack melodies. It’s very atmospheric, dark, and yet appealing. Not to many people liked it and many today still don’t.  The production itself isn’t all that bad. It’s not what I would call a jamming at ten worthy, but, it is relaxing to hear. The best part is when we carve out our pumpkins at Halloween, I always play this record. In fact, every Halloween since 1992, I have listened to this album.

Track listing:

“Overture of the Rebel Angels” – 2:42
“Conspiracy Dirge” – 1:59
“Battle for Heaven” – 3:54
“Retreat and Descent” – 3:53
“Dirge of Defeat” – 1:48
“And the Angels Weep” – 1:18
“Shifter” – 1:33
“The Morrigu” – 4:25
“Cwn Anwnn” – 2:13

Leave a Reply

