Encore: Micky Gilley

Rating: 80%

R-1363360-1273502073.jpeg.jpgPicked up this album for a few bucks just because it had “Don’t The Girls All Get Prettier At Closing Time.” Micky Gilley’s style of music during the 1960’s and 1970’s was overshadowed by his cousin Jerry Lee Lewis. But as with any musician, he re-branded his style in the 1980’s and still puts out music to this day.

This record here just showcases some of the popular songs that Gilley recorded in the 1970’s. The music on here is Country, it’s a bit Rockabilly, and it’s a bit Honky Tonk and some Boggie Woggie. The price was right and it found a new home in my record collection.

Track listing:

A1 Stand By Me 3:35
A2 Here Comes The Hurt Again 2:45
A3 Just Long Enough To Say Goodbye 2:33
A4 Window Up Above 2:36
A5 The Song We Made Love To 2:12
B1 Don’t The Girls All Get Prettier At Closing Time 2:56
B2 Overnight Sensation 2:45
B3 City Lights 2:45
B4 I Overlooked An Orchid 2:59
B5 Bouquet Of Roses 2:24


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s