Hear Nothing See Nothing Say Nothing: Discharge

Rating: 95%

Discharge-hearseesay.jpgSo, if I was to think of a influential Hardcore Punk band that had a hand in the developments of Thrash Metal, perhaps Death Metal, Crust, and Grindcore, I would have to say Discharge is one of those bands. This album here released in 1982 could have easily started it all.

What makes Discharge so special above many others? Their musical style first and foremost brutal. This album was also raw, distorted, powerful, heavy, fast, along with vocals that are shouted out, rather than sung. The music is loud and noisy. You can’t get much more raw than this. The music seems to be totally pissed off with society. That leads right to the song lyrics. Lyrically, the themes are about about politics, social happenings, as well as anarchist and pacifist themes. It’s a total war on the system. 

The musicianship is excellent! Cal Morris vocals have inspired many throughout the decades. His style of shouting really brings the emotion home of what he is singing about. The heavy and distorted guitar riffs and fast leads by Bones is awesome. Now, harmony is not what this was about, but the bass work that Rainy brings is really good. Keeping the tempo with his style of d-beats is Garry Moloney.  

The end result of this album was the influence it had one Metallica, Megadeth, Anthrax, and Slayer when they fused this Hardcore style with the New Wave of British Heavy Metal. Even Groove Metal was inspired by this album when Pantera came along.

Side one
1. “Hear Nothing See Nothing Say Nothing” 1:33
2. “The Nightmare Continues” 1:51
3. “The Final Blood Bath” 1:42
4. “Protest and Survive” 2:17
5. “I Won’t Subscribe” 1:39
6. “Drunk With Power” 2:46
7. “Meanwhile” 1:30

Side two
1. “Cries of Help” 1:54
2. “A Hell on Earth” 3:07
3. “The Possibility of Life’s Destruction” 1:17
4. “Q: And Children? A: And Children” 1:49
5. “The Blood Runs Red” 1:36
6. “Free Speech for the Dumb” 2:18
7. “The End” 2:32


Suffocating in the Swarm of Cranes: Downfall of Gaia

Rating: 75%

dog_coverDownfall to Gaia is a very talented atmospheric metal band from Germany. Their second record “Suffocating in the Swarm of Cranes” is what attracted me to the band. It’s a concept album that deals with one slowly going insane. This is a four piece band consisting of Anton Lisovoj on bass, the very talented Johannes Stoltenburg on drums, and the guitar work by Dominik Goncalves dos Reis and Peter Wolff.

The music itself is atmospheric, sludgy with some hardcore and black metal influences. I also hear a hint of Prog and some other experimental elements in the music structure itself. There is a lot of slower and heavy tempos in the song structure, but in other areas of the songs, there are a lot of faster and upbeat tempos. Many of the songs are long averaging between five to ten minutes in length.  The lyrics itself are in German, so you’ll have to get past the language barrier.

Production wise, I feel that this album could have been better. There are areas where the music drowns out the harsh vocals and rhythm guitar sections. There is also some background noise that contributes to that. Maybe this was part of the mixing process. There are a few leads in the final product, but they are mostly fillers. The bass lines I will say are not absent from this record. The bass works well with the fantastic drum lines. The drumming on this album, is remarkable. If there was a solo drum album, this is that album. The usages of offbeats and upbeats is what make this a good album. With that being said, I do feel that parts of this record repeat itself almost as if you hear it and think, well, I just heard that song.

Track listing:

  1. [Vulnus] 05:12
  2. Drowning by Wing Beats 08:08
  3. In the Rivers Bleak 08:07
  4. I Fade Away 10:05
  5. Beneath the Crown of Cranes 10:42
  6. Giving Their Heir to the Masses 09:35
  7. [Asphyxia] 05:47