Hear Nothing See Nothing Say Nothing: Discharge

Rating: 95%

Discharge-hearseesay.jpgSo, if I was to think of a influential Hardcore Punk band that had a hand in the developments of Thrash Metal, perhaps Death Metal, Crust, and Grindcore, I would have to say Discharge is one of those bands. This album here released in 1982 could have easily started it all.

What makes Discharge so special above many others? Their musical style first and foremost brutal. This album was also raw, distorted, powerful, heavy, fast, along with vocals that are shouted out, rather than sung. The music is loud and noisy. You can’t get much more raw than this. The music seems to be totally pissed off with society. That leads right to the song lyrics. Lyrically, the themes are about about politics, social happenings, as well as anarchist and pacifist themes. It’s a total war on the system. 

The musicianship is excellent! Cal Morris vocals have inspired many throughout the decades. His style of shouting really brings the emotion home of what he is singing about. The heavy and distorted guitar riffs and fast leads by Bones is awesome. Now, harmony is not what this was about, but the bass work that Rainy brings is really good. Keeping the tempo with his style of d-beats is Garry Moloney.  

The end result of this album was the influence it had one Metallica, Megadeth, Anthrax, and Slayer when they fused this Hardcore style with the New Wave of British Heavy Metal. Even Groove Metal was inspired by this album when Pantera came along.

Side one
1. “Hear Nothing See Nothing Say Nothing” 1:33
2. “The Nightmare Continues” 1:51
3. “The Final Blood Bath” 1:42
4. “Protest and Survive” 2:17
5. “I Won’t Subscribe” 1:39
6. “Drunk With Power” 2:46
7. “Meanwhile” 1:30

Side two
1. “Cries of Help” 1:54
2. “A Hell on Earth” 3:07
3. “The Possibility of Life’s Destruction” 1:17
4. “Q: And Children? A: And Children” 1:49
5. “The Blood Runs Red” 1:36
6. “Free Speech for the Dumb” 2:18
7. “The End” 2:32


One Wing: The Chariot

The_Chariot_-_One_Wing.jpgRating: 80%

“One Wing” is the final album released by the Mathcore Experimental Metal band The Chariot. This album featured Josh Scogin on vocals, Brandon Henderson on lead guitar and bass, Stephen Harrison on rhythm guitar and bass, and David Kennedy on drums.

For those who don’t know what Mathcore is, it’s a rhythmically complex and dissonant style of metalcore, that makes use of unusual time signatures in it’s song structure.  It also uses more of a screaming style vocal work. Mathcore is also associated with Grindcore, which takes it’s influences from from thrash metal, death metal, hardcore punk and noise rock.

This album is all over the place. But, it does have structure to it. It is also has some melody to it, which we’ll discuss. “Your” features a church like atmosphere with the vocal work of Angela Plake and organ. “First” starts out with hardcore sound to it, but, then, it goes into a western theme outro, that makes you think of a Clint Eastwood movie.  It also features a trumpet as if you’re waiting for the final gun fight to play out.

The album itself sounds good. It does have plenty of unusual time signatures and weird tempos. the piano that one hears here and there on the record is a good touch that breaks up the hardcore portion of the music. There are also some good riffs on this album and the dropped down tuning makes the music sound even harder. The two second Hawaiian bit that introduces you to the song “And” is a nice touch. It also has some positive messages behind it, as Chariot is also known as a Christiancore. For their last album together as a band, this is a pretty good effort to say goodbye, but, then again, I’m sure they’ll emerge again. Most bands usually do.

Track listing:

1. “Forget” 2:20
2. “Not” 2:54
3. “Your”  1:08
4. “First” 3:43
5. “Love.” 3:23
6. “Speak”  2:11
7. “In” 2:13
8. “Tongues” 4:25
9. “And” 2:34
10. “Cheek.” 5:48