Sacrifice ep: Danzig

Rating: 75%

418126HNNDL.jpgThis is for the 2000 reissue which contained two two “Deep”versions and “Serpentia.” The two “Deep” versions, I think are better than the one that was released for the X-Files soundtrack. This, although, is a bit out there, has some good points to it.

The song “Sacrifice (Rust Mix)” and “Sacrifice (Martyr Mix)” are really good versions of the song “Sacrifice” that was released as part of the “Black Acid Devil” or Danzig 5 album. “Serpentia (Winter Mix)” is slightly better than the actual album version.

Everything else, it’s a good listen, but no actual lyrics and mostly electronic noise. If you’re into the song “Sacrifice”, you’ll enjoy the tracks where Danzig is actually singing on, but may not like the instrumental versions. It’s was a good concept, but, it really doesn’t feel like Glenn Danzig to me.

Track listing:

2000 reissue version

“Sacrifice (Rust Mix)” – 3:46
“Sacrifice (Trust Mix)” – 3:46
“Sacrifice (Must Mix)” – 6:26
“Sacrifice (Crust Mix)” – 6:28
“Sacrifice (Martyr Mix)” – 6:20
“Sacrifice (Album Version)” – 4:28
“Deepest (Kennedy acid death mix)” – 4:54
“Deeper Still (French Eric Cadieaux techno Mix)” – 6:50
“Serpentia (Winter Mix)” – 7:01


6:66 Satan’s Child: Danzig

Rating: 85%

danzig_666In 1999, Danzig released his 6th record. This album compared to his previous album “Blackaciddevil”, Danzig toned down the technical part. The end result is an album that is still very dark in nature, but heavier with focus on more traditional sounds of Heavy Metal. Now he does keep certain elements of the Industrial Metal in this, but it’s more balanced and polished.

Musically, this is a solid record. While it still has some of the electrical and technical aspects, Danzig here, creates a good way for the two worlds to exists. Does this album have the vocal style that Glenn is known for? Well, yes and no. His vocals are more mid range and on some songs soft. Musicianship of the band is pretty tight and thick. Tighter than “Blackaciddevil.” Josh Lazie’s bass sound pretty good on these tracks. Jeff Chambers does produce some really tight riffs and there are some decent leads. Most of the guitar work features that drop D tuning which gives it that deeper and darker tone to the music. Joey Castillo produces some very complex tempos on the drums. Pretty solid comeback. Highlights on this album are “Five Finger Crawl”, “Unspeakable”, “Firemass” and “Cold Eternal.”

Track listing:

1. “Five Finger Crawl” 3:38
2. “Belly of the Beast” 4:28
3. “Lilin” 6:31
4. “Unspeakable” 4:12
5. “Cult Without a Name” 4:39
6. “East Indian Devil (Kali’s Song)” 4:03
7. “Firemass” 3:52
8. “Cold Eternal” 4:41
9. “Satan’s Child” 3:30
10. “Into the Mouth of Abandonement” 4:37
11. “Apokalips” 4:45
12. “Thirteen” 4:12

Embedded: Meathook Seed

Rating: 80%

Meathook_Seed_-_Embedded.pngIn 1993, musicians from two bands came together to form a side project called Meathook Seed. It features Obituary drummer Donald Tardy and guitarist Trevor Peres, who is the main vocalist for this album. It also features Napalm Death guitarist Mitch Harris on guitars and bass along with the programming.

This project is a decent collaboration of combining elements of Hardcore Punk, Death Metal with Industrial Metal. The result is a sound that is very huge and rich. The guitars are polished with a rich sound. There are some very weird guitar riffs on this album that isn’t overwhelming. It’s hardcore, thrashy, and yet, heavy enough using the elements of Death Metal. The bass lines are the same way. The drumming is progressive, heavy, and monstrous. Donald Tardy plays a very tight shift. The electric sound of the programming is another feature one will notice. It’s well balanced and doesn’t take away from the overall sound. This is a good overall album that is somewhat a forgotten record.

Track listing:

1. “Famine Sector” 4:09
2. “A Furred Grave” 3:47
3. “My Infinity” 3:01
4. “Day of Conceiving” 3:20
5. “Cling to an Image” 2:48
6. “A Wilted Remnant” 4:34
7. “Forgive” 3:24
8. “Focal Point Blur” 3:04
9. “Embedded” 2:07
10. “Visible Shallow Self” 2:27
11. “Sea of Tranquillity” 13:43

Blackacidevil: Danzig 5

Rating: 90%


The 1996 release.

So in 1996, you see Glenn Danzig with a totally new outlook on music. With no members left of the classic Danzig lineup, what should Glenn Danzig do? Well…experiment musically and seek new styles. After all, after the release of Danzig II in 1990, Glenn stated that he would never put out the same album twice. He kept to his word. The end result was the 1996 release of Danzig 5 with”Blackacidevil.”

So, is this is Blues record? No! This record sounds nothing like Danzig’s previous records. In fact, this record stands alone when it comes to even trying to put a genre to it. Is it Experimental? Yes it is. Is it Industrial Metal, Avant-Garde or Electronic Metal? Yes! Is it Hardcore? Yes! So what is it? Well, it all of the above.

Musically, this record is heavy, doomy, and aggressive. This is most likely, by far one of the heaviest Danzig records out there. Lyrically, the themes are very dark and sex driven. It contains everything that Glenn Danzig is known for. And…sadly, many people never gave this record the chance that it deserved.  Hell, even my wife loved this record.

The song structures are complex in nature with it’s heavily drench Techno and Electronic sounds complied with influences of Noise Rock. So with regards to the song structures, where do I even begin? For starters at it’s core, this is Heavy Metal. Added in with it, you have a lot of electronic rhythms. Many of the songs are upbeat in tempo. There is melody here, even though many will not feel it. There’s the Techno side of this record as well. Then you have the Doom Rock influences with the slowed tempos and heavily distorted sounds. Added to it, the Industrial Metal influences. This record could easily stand along side Rob Zombie or Nine Inch Nails. It even has traces of some Sludge Metal in it.

Musicianship, I think is pretty damn good. Glenn vocal’s really stand out from track to track. Although, many do not care for the electronically distorted sound of his voice on several tracks. Is he using his higher range style like before? Yes, and no! But, his no distorted vocals are what makes this record great. He is what gives the music the darkness that only he can do. “Ashes” is traditional Glenn Danzig from his vocal style to the music.  Glenn also plays keyboards, bass and guitar on this record. Joey Castillo’s drum work is amazing, on the reissue “Bleed Angel” is a great example. Thrown into the mix is the programmer and keyboardist Joseph Bishara.


The 2000 reissue edition

Additional Personnel:

Jerry Cantrell – Guitars (“See All You Were”, “Come to Silver”, & “Hand of Doom”)
Mark Chaussee – Guitars (“Sacrifice”, “Serpentia”)
Josh Lazie – Bass (“Sacrifice”)

Track Listing: 1996 original version
“7th House” – 3:48
“Blackacidevil” – 4:25
“See All You Were” – 5:03
“Sacrifice” – 4:29
“Hint of Her Blood” – 5:03
“Serpentia” – 6:41
“Come to Silver” – 4:01
“Hand of Doom: version” – 2:53
“Power of Darkness” – 3:19
“Ashes” – 5:28

Track Listing: 2000 reissue version
“7th House” – 3:48
“Blackacidevil” – 4:24
“See All You Were” – 5:02
“Sacrifice” – 4:28
“Hint of Her Blood” – 5:02
“Deeper” – 4:15
“Serpentia” – 6:40
“Come to Silver” – 4:00
“Hand of Doom: version” – 2:52
“Bleedangel” – 4:13
“Power of Darkness” – 3:19
“Ashes” – 5:31
“Don’t Be Afraid” – 4:25