One Wing: The Chariot

The_Chariot_-_One_Wing.jpgRating: 80%

“One Wing” is the final album released by the Mathcore Experimental Metal band The Chariot. This album featured Josh Scogin on vocals, Brandon Henderson on lead guitar and bass, Stephen Harrison on rhythm guitar and bass, and David Kennedy on drums.

For those who don’t know what Mathcore is, it’s a rhythmically complex and dissonant style of metalcore, that makes use of unusual time signatures in it’s song structure.  It also uses more of a screaming style vocal work. Mathcore is also associated with Grindcore, which takes it’s influences from from thrash metal, death metal, hardcore punk and noise rock.

This album is all over the place. But, it does have structure to it. It is also has some melody to it, which we’ll discuss. “Your” features a church like atmosphere with the vocal work of Angela Plake and organ. “First” starts out with hardcore sound to it, but, then, it goes into a western theme outro, that makes you think of a Clint Eastwood movie.  It also features a trumpet as if you’re waiting for the final gun fight to play out.

The album itself sounds good. It does have plenty of unusual time signatures and weird tempos. the piano that one hears here and there on the record is a good touch that breaks up the hardcore portion of the music. There are also some good riffs on this album and the dropped down tuning makes the music sound even harder. The two second Hawaiian bit that introduces you to the song “And” is a nice touch. It also has some positive messages behind it, as Chariot is also known as a Christiancore. For their last album together as a band, this is a pretty good effort to say goodbye, but, then again, I’m sure they’ll emerge again. Most bands usually do.

Track listing:

1. “Forget” 2:20
2. “Not” 2:54
3. “Your”  1:08
4. “First” 3:43
5. “Love.” 3:23
6. “Speak”  2:11
7. “In” 2:13
8. “Tongues” 4:25
9. “And” 2:34
10. “Cheek.” 5:48