Death and Glory: Running Wild

Rating: 95%

dog200In 1989, Running Wild unleashed “Death and Glory” which is an album that focuses on history and the high seas. The sound is incredible.  It’s clear, clean, and crisp. Musically, it’s a well balanced of Speed, Power, and Epic Metal that makes this Heavy Metal album brilliant.

The song structures are wonderfully done. The melodies and harmonies sound great. The song concepts are very original, and yet they compliment those former Heavy Metal legends such as Iron Maiden. This isn’t recycled crap in order to make an album. There was a lot of artistic thought that went into the creation of the album.

Guitarist & vocalist Rolf Kasparek, guitarist Majk Moti , bassist Jens Becker, and drummer Ian Finlay produce this rich sound. Vocally, this album sounds very epic and powerful. Even the backing vocals are very powerful. There are plenty of tight riffs and fast lead solos. The leads are just fantastic. The guitars have a rich, clear sound. The two guitars harmonizing together provides this duel guitar slinger type of atmosphere. It’s exciting and entertaining. The bass is outstanding as well. It thunders through the music and is clearly heard. The drums are great. There lots of great tempos being used which gives this album plenty of backbone and power.

Track Listing:

1. “Riding the Storm” 6:27
2. “Renegade” 4:29
3. “Evilution” 4:43
4. “Running Blood” 4:29
5. “Highland Glory (The Eternal Fight)” (instrumental) 4:51
6. “Marooned” 5:12
7. “Bad to the Bone” 4:46
8. “Tortuga Bay”3:16
9. “Death or Glory” 3:56
10. “Battle of Waterloo” 7:50
11. “March on” 4:08


Captain Morgan’s Revenge: Alestorm

Rating: 80%

Alestorm_Captain_Morgans_Revenge.jpgIn 2008, Scotland’s Power/Folk Metal band Alestorm released their debut. The band was made of up of vocalist and keyboardist Christopher Bowes, drummer Ian Wilson, bassist Dani Evans and Gavin Harper on guitar.

Lyrically, Alestorm has a pirate theme on this album as well as future albums. I know, sounds corny right? Well, it’s not as bad as you think. The song compositions are fairly good. The song lyrics put me in mind of drinking, wenches, booty and 18th Century pirates and their ships. It’s history wrapped up in plastic just waiting to be cranked up.

Vocally, the songs are very strong and gritty. There’s a great deal of harmony on the chorus lines. Musically, it has some very impressive guitar riffs. It’s heavy with folk influences, speed metal and power metal. The leads are very impressive. The addition of the traditional tin whistles and jaw hard are a nicely added touch. Musicianship is not bad. Production, the album sounds good.

Track listing:

1. “Over the Seas” 3:55
2. “Captain Morgan’s Revenge” 6:42
3. “The Huntmaster” 4:59
4. “Nancy the Tavern Wench” 4:52
5. “Death Before the Mast”  3:11
6. “Terror on the High Seas”  3:51
7. “Set Sail and Conquer”  4:38
8. “Of Treasure”  2:58
9. “Wenches & Mead” 3:42
10. “Flower of Scotland” (The Corries cover) 2:37