Scales For Beginners

I ran across this site on Blogger and thought it might be good use for someone out there. The scales seems to be very simple. Check it out.

This site has a lot of information regarding turning scales into solos. Check it out!


My Favorite African American Female Guitarists

12. Tamar-kali: Again, a rhythm guitarist serves a very important role in a band. Tamar-kali proved not only can she sing, but she can pick up a guitar and play. Her style of Rock music is very powerful. She will be one who influences many in this upcoming Rock generation,

11. Danielia Cotton: Although, more or less a rhythm guitarist, Danielia style is pretty amazing. Many of us always concentrate of the role of lead, but without rhythm guitar, a song isn’t a song. She is also a very talented vocalist.

10. Jackie Venson: This woman has a lot of spirit in her music. Although, I am not much on her style of music, I can not deny the fact that she is a great guitarist. Her style is Jazzy, soulful, and emotional. Her guitar playing is just beautiful. Her leads are well thought out as is her riffs.

9. Rachel Aggs: Rachel can play Punk and Hardcore with plenty of spunk and funk. She has a style all of her own that sounds so old school and yet very refreshing that it’s very raw, gritty, and yet powerful.

8. Beverly Watkins: This lady here worked with the best acts during her career. Acts including James Brown and Ray Charles. She established herself as a great guitarist in the Blues community. She makes that music sound so good and makes it look so easy when she plays her guitar. She’s an inspiration to all and if she is not, then she should be. I also like her voice. It’s no wonder why she is known as the “Miz Dr. Feelgood.”


Diamond Rowe,

7. Barbara Lynn: As a lefty, Barbara knew exactly how to play the Blues with soul. Her finger picking and strumming is something that is lacking in music today.

6. Valerie June: Now, this lady is a mix bag of all sorts of goodies. She mixes Folk, Blues, Gospel, Soul, Bluegrass, and Country to make her own blend of music. Valerie is so far ahead of the times, and her guitar playing will redefine the standard I am sure. She is that good. Just listen to her song “Shakedown.” You’ll see and hear why she is so good.

5. Diamond Rowe: This lady here is a thrasher. That’s right, she’s into Thrash Metal and proves that Old School Thrash Metal is alive and well. Her style is hardcore as she throws out riff after riff and provides killer solos and leads. I can’t wait to see how she progresses while keeping Thrash Metal alive.

4. Lady Bo (Peggie Jones): This woman lite up the room with her style of Rock infused Blues. She has as much influence and was a pioneer in Rock n’ Roll music. She was part of Bo Diddley’s band as a rhythm guitarist. As a pioneer in Rock n’ Roll, she continues to influence many to this day.

3. Malina Moye: I heard her performance of our country’s National Anthem and was blown away. Her style of finger picking is amazing and that is what makes Malina one hell of a lead guitarist. She can blend Rock, Blues, Soul, and Funk together like none other. She’s just so damn good and I love her style.


Memphis Minnie

2. Memphis Minnie: Her career went back to the 1920’s and carried her for over thirty years. She played the Blues with plenty of emotion and style. She not only proved to play, but sing as well. She had power and her guitar playing was so raw that it was ahead of it’s time. Listen to some of her recordings from the late 1920’s and early 1930’s. She had a certain style that was her own. She also played other instruments as well. But her guitar playing is why I consider her to be one of the greatest female guitarists of all time.

1. Sister Rosetta Tharpe: This woman could sing and shred those strings just as good as the men back in her day. She played Jazz, Blues, Rock n’ Roll, and Gospel with plenty of soul and heart. She had a style of playing that was her own. Using a thumb pick and fingers, she threw those solos out with no problem. Her style was unquiet, powerful, and heart lifting.

The Hardluck Kings Kustom Series 10 Bossman

image_04e38088-26bf-4905-a0fe-22be8714dc00_480x480I just my Hardluck King guitar. All I have to say is WOW! It’s one of the best balanced guitars that I have played in a real long time. The weight, although, heavy is very comfortable on the shoulder. I always liked the heavier guitars. Heavy guitars equal a very deep sand heavy sound. The action is low which makes it’s very easy to play. This guitar is just as good as a Gibson Les Paul.

Playing to several genres of music, this guitar sounded amazing. It sounded very good when I was playing some of Black Joe Lewis and even better when I did the rhythm section of AC/DC. It did OK when I was playing to those songs that I know a Fender was used.

The entire guitar is made from Mahogany with maple veneer.It’s satin matte black paint with chrome hardware.  It features a two volume, two tone, and a three way switch, complete with HLK Pro high output ceramic pickups located at the neck and bridge.


Squier by Fender Precision Bass

bass4I have always played a Fender bass guitar. Growing up, I was given one by my brother. This was my first stringed instrument. I was 11 years old, I think? It wasn’t long afterward, I got my first six stringer and gave up the bass. Well, after high school, I joined in a band that needed a bass player. I went out and purchased a Fender bass. Well, the band broke up and I sold that bass to my friend.

A few years ago, after listening to Primus, I wanted to play bass again. I didn’t want to spend whole lot of money and settled for the first bass I could find. It was a Squire Precision located in a pawnshop. I paid $100 for it. After I took it home, I fell in love with the quality, balance, and feel. I couldn’t tell the difference between what I remember was the Fender vs. the Squire that I now have. The first song I learned to play on it by Primus was “Wynona’s Big Brown Beaver.”

I was lucky enough to have purchased a 20th Anniversary, Squire Precision , PJ Special Standard Series Bass by Fender. This 2002 bass was made in Indonesia. It’s color is candy apple red on an Alder body with 3-ply white pick guard. It has chrome hardware. The neck is made from maple wood with a 20-fret rosewood fingerboard. Although, the heavier wood gives it a deeper sound, it’s well balanced and comfortable to play after swinging this beast around for several hours of play.

The bass has two volume and one master tone pods. It has both the Precision standard split single coil pick up and the single Jazz pickup. The split single coil has a very meaty tone, while the single pickup has a nice full bodied and crisp sound.