Blessing in Disguise: Metal Chruch

Rating: 95%

Metal_church_blessing_in_disguiseRealizing that change was needed and a new direction with the shifting of mainstream music, Metal Church foreseen the future as the high water mark of Glam Metal was on the decline and so was Thrash Metal. “Blessing in Disguise” proved to be the change needed in order to produce a solid heavy album. This is the first album with vocalist Mike Howe and guitarist John Marshall. The end result is an album that is almost flawless.

The heaviness, new vocal style, the drumming, and the bass are absolutely brilliant on this album. The opening track “Fake Healer” features all of the ingredients for the perfect Heavy Metal song. Heavy and powerful guitar riffs, fantastic leads and fills. This with some great drumming that even features the slapping of the drum sticks, a powerful bass guitar and strong, harmonizing vocals is what made this album great. The melodies within the song structure are amazing.

The rest of the album is just like that. The production is so much better on this album than the previous two records.  The song writing has greatly improved. This is one of the greatest Metal church albums that they released still to this date.

Track listing:

1. “Fake Healer” 5:55
2. “Rest in Pieces (April 15, 1912)”  6:38
3. “Of Unsound Mind” 4:44
4. “Anthem to the Estranged” 9:31
5. “Badlands” 7:21
6. “The Spell Can’t Be Broken”  6:46
7. “It’s a Secret” Instrumental 3:47
8. “Cannot Tell a Lie” 4:17
9. “The Powers That Be” Vanderhoof Wells, Vanderhoof 5:22


The Dark: Metal Church

Rating: 85%

MetalChurch-TheDarkMetal Church after their first release went back into the studio and produce a very powerful and solid follow up album, “The Dark” in 1986. Their blend of Heavy Metal, Speed Metal, and Thrash Metal mixed with elements of the New Wave of British Heavy Metal is great. This album showcases that Thrash Metal can exist in a song structure that is changing and progressing.

This album still produces these killer riffs and leads that are conducted by Kurdt Vanderhoof and Craig Wells. The screaming raspy vocal style of David Wayne sounds good. This is the last album he would stand in on for a while. Keeping the time, tempos, and beats is drummer Kirk Arrington and assisting him on bass is Duke Erickson. “Method to Your Madness” is one example where elements of Thrash is blended in with just regular Heavy Metal and the result is a sort of Power Thrash epic. The opening track “Ton of Bricks” and “The Dark” are pretty straight forward Thrash Metal. “Watch the Children Pray” is a ballad style song without following the traditional ballad structure.

Bottom line here, Metal Church sounds stronger, powerful, and energetic. Their song writing style is still developing, but, a solid second album.

Track listing:

1. “Ton of Bricks” 2:55
2. “Start the Fire” 3:55
3. “Method to Your Madness” 4:52
4. “Watch the Children Pray” 5:57
5. “Over My Dead Body” 3:36
6. “The Dark” 4:11
7. “Psycho” 3:32
8. “Line of Death” 4:42
9. “Burial at Sea” 4:58
10. “Western Alliance” 3:18

Metal Church: Metal Church

Rating: 85%


In 1984, Metal Church released their debut self-titled album. Metal Church is one of those groups that started out and gained a decent following underground during the Thrash Metal movement. The album features vocalist David Wayne, guitarists Kurdt Vanderhoof & Craig Wells, bassist Duke Erickson, and drummer Kirk Arrington. They contributed much to the Thrash Metal scene. A nice solid album for the time. Musically, it’s filled with Thrash Metal, Speed Metal and just good ol’ Heavy Metal. It’s a decent record filled with tons of riffs and lead guitars. There’s some good drumming and bass lines. I do like their faster version of Deep Purple’s “Highway Star.” “Gods of Wrath” is another good song. It’s got some great vocal ranges. “Beyond the Black” throws out some very thrashy and fast riffs. “Metal Church” is another decent song. The sound is somewhat clean, although, it has that typical 1980’s sound quality. All and all, not a bad record.

Track listing:

1. “Beyond the Black” 6:23

2. “Metal Church” 5:03

3. “Merciless Onslaught” (Instrumental) 2:54

4. “Gods of Wrath” 6:41

5. “Hitman” 4:39

6. “In the Blood” 3:31

7. “(My Favorite) Nightmare” 3:12

8. “Battalions” 4:53

9. “Highway Star” 4:39